Silly Awards Ceremony


There was an awards ceremony called “Senior Awards” at Homestead today. Like most things that Homestead does, it was really dumb. I ended up with two awards that I couldn’t care less about. It was amusing refreshing my belief that Homestead does not care at all about academics. Why else would half the awards ceremony be about sports results? And how many of our math contest victories were mentioned? (Hint: it’s less than any legitimate value of epsilon.)

Another item of amusement was the awarding of ropes for community service awards. I couldn’t stop myself from thinking about the old cliché “just enough rope to hang yourself.” I know, I’m so cynical. But it’s just a rope with nothing attached to it, so I consider myself justified in my cynicism… this time.

James Albrecht (from Chicago A) warned me on AIM because I told him we’d beat his team at ARML. Hm. I was only telling the truth.

I was ashamed today to find out that I STILL cannot solve all #6 and #7 problems on Mandelbrot. I was using them from ARML practice, and I solved only about half of them. I can probably do more with more time, but then the time is the whole point of individual round, isn’t it?

SFBA people: check out http://www.artofproblemsolving.com. It’s really good. Especially read the articles, which are under resources. They don’t contain any mathematical content, but they can possibly enhance mathematical understanding and problem solving (and how to cram…). Also there’s a lecture on Mandelbrot problems at 5PST at that site tomorrow (May 29th), so I think it would be a good idea for SFBA people to watch it. I plan to.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

