ARML


My experiences from ARML were different from those of others. I shall go through everything.

1) Power round: 35/40, tied for 1st with Montgomery Blair A (a school in Maryland) 6 points ahead of TJ. Yay!

2) Team round: 40/40, tied for 1st with Chicago A and Phillips Exeter Red. Again, 4 points ahead of TJ. Yay again! If ARML had been only team and power, then SFBA A would have been 1st comfortably.

3) Individual round: 62/120 (ick). Wow these were tough. NYC got 67, TJ got 66, and we were third. But at least I feel that I contributed. I got 7/8, which put me tied for 2nd before the horrible tiebreaks.

4)Relay round: 16/40 (blah). Lots of people beat us.

5) Super relay: we get candy. Yay.

6) Tiebreakers: Now we get to see that Simon is completely incompetent. Jon and I got 7/8 on individual, and the next highest at western site was 5. That’s pretty bad, isn’t it? So for the first tiebreak I mess around with it… and don’t get it. awww. On the second one, for whatever reason, I misread it or something and find the GREATEST value that satisfies the condition rather than the LEAST value. Argh. On the third one, I knew exactly how to do it, I knew it was 1764/2-3, and… Simon divides 1764 by 2 and gets 884. So Simon gets 0/3 on tiebreaks and is relegated to “National High Honors” instead of “Top 3.” Anders got 8, so he was #1. Jon was #2. Who was #3? Apparently not someone I know, but I was too tired by then to be paying much attention.

7) So in the end, we lose to TJ by just 2 points and come in 2nd. At least my promise to James Albrecht (we beat Chicago A) comes true. 🙂

8) I saw Raylene Yung for the first time in nearly two years. She’s from Southern California, and she was also at SUMaC 2001. I also saw Bob Cordwell, who was in Red A at MOP. He was on the “New Idagon” team (that is, people from New Mexico, like Bob, Idaho, and Oregon). Aaron Kleinman from SFBA in many previous years was there as a proctor. Nice to meet these people again. It might be the last time I ever see them. That’s a shame.

9) After ARML, I had to head off immediately to a recital where I played both the piano and the cello. Now Simon is exhausted and will end this LJ. But I’ll probably still be on AIM and at my computer unless I can find some MINERAL WATER in LARGE QUANTITIES.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ARML

  1. blenrock says:

    Hey. I’m Eve from the aops board. Just wanted to say hi. Congrats on your seven – that’s awesome! Anyway, I’m going to make you a friend. Let me know if you object.

Leave a Reply

