Next Post


I find it somewhat disturbing that the last high school math contest comes before the end of high school. After ARML, I still have to go to my school for nearly two more weeks. It seems that this is cruel and unusual punishment, since math contests are by far the greatest reward for being trapped in the horrible prison known as high school.

Fortunately, today is the last day of classes. This means that next week I get to go through the horrible ordeal known as graduation practice. Why we need to practice for graduation is beyond me. Perhaps some people have trouble walking through the aisles. Or perhaps some people might get so bored with the whole ceremony (which I’m sure will be boring) and be sleeping when their names are called to pick up papers with their names on them. Yes, that’s right. At the ceremony, they don’t give us diplomas. They give us the diplomas after the ceremony so that we get to wait in long lines and be very bored. Another point for the idiocy known as high school bureaucracy.

On another note, we are arranging a dinner, and Guanxiong seemed interested in arranging it. Although I have arranged just about every activity I have done in high school because I don’t trust anyone else to get it done in a reasonable manner, I let him do it this time. I told him it would be on June 14th. So he proceeded to tell everyone that it was going to be on June 7th, even though half the people had conflicts with June 7th. Why don’t people listen to me!?!?

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Next Post

  1. yoz says:

    Absence warms the brain
    If it’s not absolutely necessary to attend the ceremonial graduation ritual, perhaps you could skip it, providing some sort of plausible excuse. At TJ the graduation ritual appears just as bad – we have a rehearsal scheduled as well. However, I think Yan will miss the graduation because he’s going to MOP, but the School Board probably won’t deny him his diploma for it.

    • Simon says:

      Re: Absence warms the brain
      We aren’t required to go to the ceremony, but my family requires me to do so. Thus I can’t get out of it.

      • blenrock says:

        Re: Absence warms the brain
        Same with me. I have no interest in going to mine but my family absolutely won’t let me ditch it.

        • Simon says:

          Re: Absence warms the brain
          I actually was close to getting out of mine. My mother didn’t think it was important for me to go, but then my father and my grandparents insisted on it. Oh well.

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    Probably won’t work… but it’s worth a try…
    You know how they keep you out in the sun? Well, when practicing, you could…um… feign heat stroke and go home “sick”… It really depends how desperate you are. Maybe you need practice for walking on the bleachers… Last year (in middle school) I almost tripped and knocked over the two people on either side of me… (I’m so sad…) anyhow, have fun!

    • Simon says:

      Re: Probably won’t work… but it’s worth a try…
      Knowing you, I’d almost think you did it on purpose…(just kidding)

    • rippledance says:

      *thinks of last year*
      Haha – sucker. Grad speakers get to sit on chairs (and get roasted b/c they so thoughtfully put out metal chairs for us). Last year Phillip Baker brought an umbrella to the practices and we stole it from him…Simon, think of grad ceremony as a time for you to think up sarcastic comments about everything and anything in general. Or to solve math problems by scribbling on your palm. Or something. Exercise your imagination. =)

      • Simon says:

        Re: *thinks of last year*
        I would do math during the stupid practices, except they probably won’t let us carry anything. Eh, I’d do math during the ceremony if they didn’t stop us…

Leave a Reply

