Strange Disappearance of Mineral Water…


Yesterday (Thursday June 5th) evening, I looked in the refrigerator, and it dawned upon me that eight and a half half-liter bottles of sparkling mineral water had been consumed since I returned from ARML. I started thinking about this. I realized I had probably consumed all eight and a half bottles myself. Therefore, I came up with the following observations:

1) Cold mineral water is very addictive.
2) Cold mineral water tastes a lot better when it is in a glass than when it is in a plastic container that it comes in.
3) Room temperature mineral water is just as useful as cold mineral water for making me think. Therefore I consume much mineral water during math contests and chess tournaments and other competitive activities (except ARML, when we were out and I couldn’t find a supermarket that sold it).
4) Every time I see a bottle of mineral water that is not in the refrigerator and it is at my house, I put it in the refrigerator. (This does not include the times in which I take a bottle out of my refrigerator to take somewhere else.)
5) I should stop doing the aforementioned activity (4) due to (1).

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Strange Disappearance of Mineral Water…

  1. rippledance says:

    Mineral water is good.

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    I’m still rather miffed… You denied Darren and I a chance to steal your water, and perhaps beat you (at the ARML)… And insult upon injury, your score was my score + Darren’s score… oh well.

    • Simon says:

      You have only yourself to blame. I asked about half the people on the A team where I could go within walking distance to buy some mineral water, and no one would tell me. So what could I do other than beat you? Anyway, it could be said that since you denied me the chance to have any mineral water that you did in fact steal it. Mineral water probably wouldn’t help you win math contests anyway. And besides, I thought the idea was for our team to win it and not for you to beat me. I gave you my permission to get an eight on the individual round provided that you’d lose to me in the tiebreaks if I also got an eight. You didn’t get close. Not my fault…
      Just to be precise, you should have said “You denied Darren and {\bf me} a chance to steal your water[…]” since I do actually care about grammar.

Leave a Reply

