Next Post


Insult of the day: “Only people in band would know what the downbeat is.” — the assistant principal in charge of graduation practice. I’m sure my parents would be thrilled to know that the many thousands of dollars they spent on my piano and cello lessons have resulted in someone saying that I don’t know what a downbeat it. Just because I play a string instrument and the piano. I know I shouldn’t take it literally, but I do. People should really be careful about what they say and to whom. (In this case, it was addressed to everyone in the graduation practice, so there were probably many people who ought to be insulted.)

The next thing that I found in the ceremony that I thought I could make fun of was a line from the speech of our class president. I didn’t even know who our class president was before today, and I have never met her. Nor has she been in any of my classes. But I feel like making fun of something she said anyway. “It’s good to have an end to a journey, but it’s the journey that matters in the end.” Just to spite her, I have decided that it will be my lifelong ambition to be a vector, in which case the journey does not matter.

At that point, it was starting to get hot, and I didn’t want to think anymore, so I put away my notebook and stopped being insulted of annoyed by everything said and started being annoyed with the incompetence of the senior class to follow very simple instructions.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

