Administrative Incompetence, Volume Three


I’ve already complained a lot about graduation practice, but this time I wasn’t looking for stupid things. I was not trying to take things too literally. This time it was just genuine stupidity on the part of my school. Each day, they said we were supposed to get there at 8:00 AM. Some time between 7:59:50 and 8:00:10 by my watch, I arrived where I was supposed to be. (Yes, I really do like to be punctual.) At 8:08, the assistant principal in charge started being stupid as usual (that is, he said something not very memorable). At around 8:15, the principal came to our practice and was annoyed because he said he thought some seniors might have pulled a prank, but then it might not have been seniors; it might have been some other people trying to get seniors in trouble. I believe it’s customary to do an investigation before making an accusation. Please correct me if I am mistaken. Then the assistant principal, in his customary wisdom, said that he had been “too busy dealing with the potential prank that he had been unable to prepare.” I have never been a fan of excuses. If a person does something silly, why should someone else take the blame? Well, as usual, most people disagree with me. So he spent about 45 minutes making up for the work he probably should have been doing yesterday. Some time after 9:00, the practice began. At this point, I wasn’t really annoyed yet, since I have been used to time-wasting procedures in four years at my high school. And I didn’t think it would be anything preventing us from getting out at 12:00 PM. Instead, he decided that at 11:45 AM, he would begin some truncated version of the ceremony. That didn’t please me very much, since I had a piano lesson at 1:00, and before my piano lesson, I had to ride home 3 miles by bicycle, eat lunch, and get my music ready. So all that needed to be done by 12:45. When it got to be 12:00, I thought that I could leave and tell the assistant principal that if he says that it will end at 12:00, then it will end at 12:00. But I didn’t want to cause a lot of trouble, so I stayed there. Around 12:07, he started giving us “last-minute comments.” I don’t think that holding us after the practice should have been over was quite the right time for these comments. They took ten minutes, so we were out by 12:17. I was out of school by 12:20 and raced home to make it by 12:29 (helped, of course, by the fact that all the lights were green). Still, I didn’t get a decent lunch, and so that annoyed me. In general, Homestead just can’t do anything right.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Administrative Incompetence, Volume Three

  1. blenrock says:

    My graduation practice that was supposed to let out at noon ended up letting out at 12:35. I win. Or maybe I lose. Yeah, I think I lose.

Leave a Reply

