I have been ordered to post something, and so I shall.

I returned from Santa Barbara yesterday night. Alas, I was forced to deal with stubborn bureaucracy yet again. Professor Ryavec told me to sign up for Real Analysis, Modern Algebra, and Geometric-Algebraic Topology, but all those are graduate classes, and for some reason, the UCSB computer feels that freshmen can’t handle graduate math classes, so it would not let me enroll in them. It’s a lot harder dealing with computer bureaucracy than with human bureaucracy because it is not possible to negotiate with the computer. Oh well. All shall be straightened out at some later time, and hopefully by about 1PM on Friday, since otherwise I will have to wait until September.

I must read Calculus on Manifolds by Michael Spivak before school starts in the fall (uh oh). I’m not sure if I can get through that book on my own, since it isn’t exactly easy reading.

What else? Nothing else, I imagine. I shall now retreat to my routinely boring life.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to

  1. nightsword04 says:

    you’re going to UCSB for college?

    • Simon says:

      I am. Why? It’s not prestigious enough for you?

      • teratoma says:

        LMAO
        GG, that’s what you get for hosing the SAT

        • Simon says:

          Re: LMAO
          Actually I am very happy to be going to UCSB. At UCSB, I can take whichever graduate math classes I want as a freshman, and I can do research whenever I want, whereas at other schools, the research opportunities will go to the graduate students. Yes, that’s what I get for hosing the SAT, as you put it so eloquently yourself.

  2. rippledance says:

    -smiles-
    One may not be able to argue with computer bureaucracy, but at least computers are more efficient and they don’t leave you hanging.

  3. hmmmmmmmm
    if you have a boring life, talk to me. i can always freshen things up.

  4. Simon says:

    . How come I can’t get it to bring up without any spaces? That’s not fair.

  5. blenrock says:

    Goodness, I’m jealous. You’re going to graduate with a hell of a lot more math than I’m going to get.
    Never read Spivak’s book, but I hear it’s awesome beyond belief. My math teacher this past year let me borrow his copy, but I didn’t get around to it by the end of the year… so no Calc on Manifolds for me. Let me know what you think of it. =)

  6. intrepia says:

    Hi… I am checking out some of the journals of people who came up on that recent closest non-friends meme, and you seem like an interesting math person… so if you don’t mind, I am going to befriend you.
    -Connie

    • Simon says:

      I never mind having extra friends, but what is this “closest non-friends meme” of which you speak? It is nice to know that some people think of me as interesting, as I would imagine that most people (particularly non-math people) would consider me rather boring. But now I am just randomly rambling, and you probably do not want to read my random thoughts, so this post has now come to a conclusion.

      • intrepia says:

        You can find it here. It seemed to be going around my friends list quite rapidly about a week or so ago.
        I find math people fairly interesting most of the time, especially since many of my friends are math people. There seem to be an awful lot of them on LiveJournal, though, and I figured it would be fun to befriend a few.
        For the record, I enjoy random ramblings a great deal, and I also ramble randomly a great deal.

Leave a Reply

