Arrival


I am now in my room at UCSB. I managed to get on the internet somehow. My father couldn’t figure out how, but then I just decided to try to go to random websites to see what would happen, and suddenly I got some instructions telling me how to complete the process. Now I don’t have to take my computer across campus as some people suggested. I have all my books and CDs unpacked now, so at least the room looks reasonably organized. My roommate isn’t here yet, so it’s all mine for now.

I thought I was going to have a lot to say, but now I don’t. I listened to the first eight Beethoven symphonies on the journey but we arrived before I got a chance to start the ninth.

There’s someone else in my house who plays the cello. There are also a disproportionate number of physics majors, and I think I’m the only math major.

One of my speakers keeps shutting off and then coming back on. I must see if I can fix it.

I am very relieved that I have internet access. Now I will be able to teach the ARML class tomorrow, and I might not even have to write the questions myself.

This entry is very poorly written. Please don’t comment on how poorly I write. I’ll try to do better next time.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arrival

  1. rippledance says:

    You have internet access? Great.

  2. aknoln says:

    I have no idea yet where my room is, but where’s yours (hall/room)? Current plan is to show up Tuesday evening.

  3. taion says:

    This entry is very poorly written. I shall comment on how poorly you write. Try to do better next time.

Leave a Reply

