I may not have survived the USAMO, but at least I survived several miles of the red tape at UCSB


On Saturday, I tried to get my ACCESS card, and they told me that I needed an official printed document from the University that contained my name and perm number. I have lots of those, but unfortunately they are all 300 miles away, so I got my mother to forward me an email about housing that came in April I think. I wasn’t sure if this trick would work, but I printed out the form and showed it to them, and somehow they accepted it. Can’t anyone go into Word and type a document that looks semi-official with a name and perm number?

My next mission was to pay off my BARC account bill, which was only $116.84 (yay for scholarships!). It’s a shame that it’s at least a 20 minute walk from my dorm to the administration building. I hope I don’t have to go over there too many times.

After I paid my bill, I asked someone where to go to get my meal sticker for my card so that I could actually eat something, which I hadn’t done for 22 or 23 hours, and I was extremely hungry. They told me that I had to go to the opposite side of campus, which was probably another 20 or 30 minutes walk from the administration building and probably 20 minutes away from my dorm. I wasn’t looking forward to that at all since I wanted to eat, and I didn’t really want to have to pay for a lunch that I had already bought. Then I tried just going to Carrillo to see what they would do if I just showed up with a card without a meal sticker. Amazingly, they just put a sticker on my card and didn’t charge me a second time for my lunch (I think).

That leaves me with three forms to fill out to allow me to take some graduate math classes. I would be surprised if any professors would actually agree to let me in. The form says: “The policy regarding enrollment by an undergraduate in a graduate course requires: 1. The student must have a minimum cumulative grade-point-average of 3.0; 2. The student must have at least 12 units of upper-division credit with a grade of B or better in the subject of the graduate course; 3. Graduate courses completed by undergraduate students will not apply toward graduate degrees.” Hm. 1. My grade-point-average is non-existant. I haven’t even taken any classes here yet! 2. I have 0 units of upper-division credit with a grade of B or better in the subject of the course for the same reason. Oh yes, “To enroll in a graduate course, take this petition with an unofficial copy of your transcript to the instructor for initial approval, then obtain the other signatures in the order listed. Your signed petition must be returned to the Office of the Registrar by the registration deadlines listed in the current Schedule of Classes.” Hm. I don’t have a transcript for the same reason again. Things do not look so rosy for me at the moment. I wonder what will happen…

My roommate recently materialized after being absent for approximately twenty hours. I wonder where he went. Anyway, he has disappeared again now.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I may not have survived the USAMO, but at least I survived several miles of the red tape at UCSB

  1. thndrcow13 says:

    ucsb
    Hey, I just realized you’re in CCS math. That’s awesome. Ryavec is the coolest professor you’ll ever meet, and CCS is a great program. You’ll learn more than a lot of people at ivy league schools will. Chances are I’ll see you at a Ryavec class, so until then…
    Justin (from SUMAC two years ago)

    • Simon says:

      Re: ucsb
      Shh. There are people from Ivy League schools reading this LJ. We don’t want them to know what they’re missing. I’ll see you in Ryavec’s class.

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    aww… *patpa*-whoops.. 😛 stupid bureacrary…

Leave a Reply

