Day 2


Before I went to any classes, I got the sparkling water deal settled with Arrowhead. They’ll come by Thursday morning with my water. Yay.

My first class was algebra. The professor lectured on the definition of a group and some stuff with permutations. At least I knew that much about algebra before, but probably not a whole lot more. The professor warned me after the class that this class is not a first year algebra class and told me I would be better off taking his CCS class, which is right before the class I am taking, so perhaps I’ll stop by in that class from time to time, but I’m not particularly fond of 8AM classes, especially when my roommate is typing on the world’s noisiest keyboard at 1AM. He also decided that he needed an extra class, so we have another session at 7:45 AM on Friday. Wonderful. I think on Fridays I will wake up at 6AM and sleep at 10:30AM. That’s not very healthy, is it? Anyway, he signed my form, and he even marked “yes,” so I’m happy.

My next class was music appreciation. The professor spent most of the class explaining to us how to use the software that comes with the textbook. I hope this class isn’t going to be as easy as it’s threatening to be.

After that I had lunch and then returned to my room to TeX my algebra notes. I got about halfway through that before I decided I should head over to topology. I took more notes in one day of algebra than I took in most yearlong classes in high school. The only problem is that they take a long time to TeX.

Topology was pretty simple. The professor had us draw a sketch of ourselves at the beginning of class. I was tempted to draw a sphere, but I decided that even though it is a topology class, he might not want that. He claims that the class could be titled “Analysis Done Right” and told us not to tell anyone he said that, and that’s why I’m writing it here. (Professor Long doesn’t read LiveJournals, does he?) He then talked about the definition of metric spaces and examples of metric spaces. Some of them were rather interesting, but the material was still definitely review. I guess that’s the way it should be on the first day, isn’t it? He signed my form after class but advised me that the class would move very slowly. Am I the only one who finds it strange that a professor is telling a first-year undergraduate that a graduate class might be too easy?

After that, I got a few more signatures, and I was completely exhausted and had no intention whatsoever of going on a 20+ minute walk to the administration building, but Jon was going there to turn in his forms, so he took mine and tried to turn them in for me, but they didn’t allow that. I guess I’ll have to go over there tomorrow then. Blah. I was hoping I would never have to go there again.

I guess that’s all that might be of interest to anyone.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 2

  1. thndrcow13 says:

    Long is awesome…he had us do the picture thing last year too…good teacher.
    JP

Leave a Reply

