Does everyone hate me?


Why did my roommate have to stay up until 3AM typing, printing, and just generally making loud noises when I was trying to sleep? How am I going to stay awake in my classes now?

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Does everyone hate me?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kill him!

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    *puzzled look* You have an awful roommate like Jon does? *patpat* 😛

    • Simon says:

      I wouldn’t say so. It’s just that his sleep hours are the opposite of what I’d like mine to be. Perhaps I should let my “alarm clock” go for an hour when I wake up. I’ll only have to do that a few times before he realizes what I’m doing. Right now it plays music at 7AM, but I tend to turn it off fairly soon. Today I didn’t wake up until 7:30. Serves him right! Unfortunately, he’s such a deep sleeper. I should just keep it on. He probably wouldn’t wake up anyway.

      • Anonymous says:

        it might be easiest to just adapt to his schedule if he doesn’t adapt to yours. alternatively, earplugs do wonders. but i don’t think it’s really either of our fault that you have different sleeping schedules.

        • Simon says:

          How can I adapt to his schedule? If I have to stay up until 3 and then I have classes at 9, then I won’t be a happy person. I’m not one of those people who can wake up right before class, run off to class, and function properly. That’s why I wake up at 7 for 9:00 classes. You’re right that no one is at fault.

          • you just summarized my life. oh oh booyah *pelvic thrust*

            • Simon says:

              Yeah, but you’re a little kid. You can handle not sleeping without any problems. I think I could do that when I was your age too, but now I can’t function with that sleep schedule.

              • mousie1389 says:

                eww…I’m starting to lose it. I could do pretty well on only a couple hours or no sleep for a day, but now it’s HARD!! I don’t know what to do about your roommate…except attempt to “guilt trip” him? (Or adapt to sleeping with earplugs in?! Sounds like an awful proposition.)

              • lol, i guess so. but i should really start going to sleep earlier because then ill just collapse once i get to high school, or even worse…college

Leave a Reply

