AlgebraFest 2003, Sessions 1 and 2


In the first session of AlgebraFest 2003, from 1 to 6, Jeff, Jon, and I got through Chapter 1 of Agboola’s notes and proved most of the important and difficult theorems such as the Isomorphism Theorems, Cayley’s Theorem, the Class Equation, and a bunch of other theorems. Then at 6, we took a break for dinner so that we wouldn’t have to fight the long lines.

At 7, we returned to AlgebraFest 2003 to work on Sylow Theory. These Sylow theorems are really quite monstrous. Sylow must have been a pretty smart fellow to have come up with all these theorems and proofs. A lot of Agboola’s proofs don’t really prove things properly. He doesn’t seem to understand that when he skips five steps, not everyone understands exactly what he didn’t say or write down. I guess it’s good that he thinks everyone should understand the stuff that he understands, but it’s really difficult to figure out what he’s doing. Now that’s our job at AlgebraFest 2003. At 9, Jeff’s sister called to say that she was at UCSB to visit him, so we adjourned. We’ll probably resume with AlgebraFest 2003 Session 3 around 11. I should try to help my back recover.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

