I promised my mother that I would go to the Student Health Center right after my topology midterm on Thursday to see if I could get something done about my back, and so I did. After telling the receptionist what was wrong, I was sent over to Urgent Care immediately. I wasn’t at all prepared for that. After a few minutes, they called my name and sent me into a room, and they told me a doctor would be there shortly. While I was waiting, I read a bit of Introduction to Metric and Topological Spaces before my back started hurting again. Then I lay down until it stopped hurting, and then I got back up and started reading again. Eventually the doctor came and brought me to another room and asked me a bunch of questions. After a while, he decided that my troubles are probably a result of carrying a cello across campus and not getting enough aerobic exercise. I got a few pills, and I should also try to get a cart or something like that with large wheels for transporting my cello, but I don’t know where I can get one. It seems rather silly that my cello case has wheels, but I cannot use them. Unfortunately, I don’t know if I’m supposed to take the pills when my back is hurting or just twice a day when I get around to it, so I haven’t taken any yet. I’m sure I’ll be in excruciating pain again on Monday either after analysis or after Putnam seminar and definitely after orchestra. If nothing especially bad happens before then, I’ll wait until Monday to start taking the pills.

Yesterday I finally played the piano. I managed to locate one in the Old Little Theatre of CCS, and so I played for a little while after analysis. The piano could really use some work. It’s a Steinway, but it isn’t in good shape at all. Unfortunately I didn’t have any music with me, so I stumbled my way through the Italian Concerto and was eventually able to play it after a fashion. (Whether I could ever play the Italian Concerto properly is another story.) Then I tried to play some Beethoven variations that I had played before, and I was able to recall most of them, but I couldn’t remember the last one well enough to play it. I should go there again with some music today.

After I got back to my room on Friday, I assisted in an AoPS class for Miller students who want to win MATHCOUNTS since agnosticessence is on vacation. (He’s the usual assistant for that class.) The kids were very wild, but I think it went well.

I was a bit concerned about staying here for Halloween since the administration made such a fuss to make sure that nothing bad would happen. That’s never a good sign. A lot of people on were complaining bitterly about the rules. I agree that the email that was sent out was somewhat offensive, but I don’t see why these people don’t understand that some people might not want to be subjected to 150db “music” at 4AM. I guess there are people who think everyone has the same opinions they do everywhere. Some people would probably say that I’m one of them, and maybe I am. I’d like to believe that I’m not though.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. z9r4c3 says:

    🙂 My sister’s taking that class, but she’s dark_shadow in it (dark_shadow, not darkshadow).. she didn’t like the name I thought up for her…. 😦 *patpat*

  2. gompers says:

    what is the name of the pills?

Leave a Reply

