I went to my first recital since I got here yesterday. It was a guitar recital with music by Leo Brouwer, Robert de Visée, Francisco Tárrega, Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (who is incidentally a member of the elite class of people who have had longer last names than I), and Fernando Sor. I had planned on going for several days, but I thought it was going to be at 8PM. At around 5:40, I decided it would be a good idea to check what time it was, just to be certain. To my great surprise, it said on the website that it would be starting at 6. Therefore, I left almost immediately and arrived about 10 minutes early. Well, being early is good I guess. The recital was enjoyable. I think I’ll go to another one on Thursday if I can find out what the music will be.

Today there were a few new people at ARML practice. It’s always fun having new people there. Unfortunately, a bunch of the usual people didn’t show up, so it about the same size as usual. There was a lot of trouble with one of the problems. They kept getting tantalizingly close to a solution but then not quite finishing it off. That was a shame. Apart from that one problem, it went quite well. I was especially happy to see so many Homestead people there. Intermediate Counting went rather well also. It was unfortunate that we ran out of time before finishing the final problem since it was a nice problem and also a fairly challenging one.

After dinner, I went to CCS to subject whoever was studying at that moment to some not-very-good piano playing (mainly sight-reading). The Little Old Theater was locked, and my key doesn’t open it, so I went into the main CCS building. I found a piano, and I was appalled to find two broken chairs on top of the piano. After I took them down and raised the lid, I noticed that the piano bench had legs of different heights. Then I replaced the piano bench with a normal chair. The next thing I noticed was that the pedals were to the side of the piano rather than in the middle. I thought that was a bit odd, but I could probably handle it. Unfortunately, after I started using the pedals, I realized that they weren’t connected. Playing Grieg’s Aus Holbergs Zeit without pedals is not much fun, and it didn’t sound very god. Then again, my sight-reading of the third and fourth movements also didn’t sound very good. After that, I played Bach’s Italian Concerto and Beethoven’s Waldstein Sonata rather poorly. At some point I must both improve and fix the pedals. I don’t know if the latter is possible though. Amazingly the piano was in tune. It’s a nice instrument (Steinway). If they would only get it fixed, it would be a pleasure to play.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. mousie1389 says:

    Horrors!! A piano in that condition (and a Steinway!!!)!!! But yes, at least it was in tune. In Music Theory last year, Mr. Burn would play a melodic octave and everyone could tell it was _really_ flat.
    hmm…gotta read that log…that was one interestingly long problem

Leave a Reply

