I think my roommate only stays up until 3AM when he has papers due the next day. Unfortunately, it seems that his papers are always due on Mondays. If he didn’t go home every weekend, he could start earlier and finish at a reasonable hour. I would sleep in CCS before each of his papers is due except that we’re not supposed to, and I only have one “alarm clock.” It’s a shame that he wants to stay awake until 3AM, whereas I want to wake up at 7AM. As a results, I notice my own level of courtesy toward him decreasing. This morning, it took me about half an hour to turn my radio off, although I did turn the volume down. I used to turn it off within a minute or two of being awakened.

I wasn’t feeling very well yesterday. I don’t think anything is especially wrong, and amazingly my back didn’t hurt much, but I was just feeling generally lousy. I hope all will be better today, but right now I’m too tired to tell. Maybe I should get more food. I find myself hungry a lot, and the meals served usually aren’t very appetizing. Life is so complicated. I never realized just how difficult everything could be until I got here.

At 4:30 yesterday, I assisted in the Algebraic Problem Solving class on AoPS. It was rather strange. The students only needed help very rarely, so there wasn’t very much for me to do. I guess they tend to get stuck a lot more in Intermediate Counting, but that’s understandable since it’s a more difficult class.

Orchestra was short yesterday. Everyone who does not play violin was dismissed no later than about 8:20. I can’t imagine something like that happening in ECYS. Rehearsals there were always at least 3 hours, and Dr. Kolchinsky never had any qualms about letting us out half an hour late and then running “progress checks” after that.

For some reason or another, we don’t have algebra today. I think Prof. Agboola is away, but that’s just a guess. I could have used the extra time to sleep, but apparently I’m not that smart.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

