I have yet to locate a suit jacket and bowtie for my orchestra concert on Wednesday. I don’t know how I’ll manage to get one, but it must work out somehow. I walked over to Borders in the hope of finding a store nearby which would sell me a suit jacket and a bowtie, but unfortunately no such store exists. It’s too bad that my bicycle had flat tires, but I guess it should not be unexpected that something is wrong with it given that I haven’t used it since I got here. Almost all things atrophy from lack of use. Apparently bicycles are no excpetion.

After I had walked about a mile, I started getting a terrible headache. I’m not sure whether I haven’t been drinking enough or whether there’s something funny about the Arrowhead sparkling water. I do know that I feel dehydrated alarmingly often. Anyway, a headache wasn’t enough to deter me, so I continued, and after a long time, I reached Borders. I then looked around for a few minutes and realized that nothing resembled a clothes store at all. Then I went to the Borders Café to get something to drink in the hope that my headache would disappear. Indeed, it helped. I should have had something hot though since it was rather cold outside. Unfortunately, I wasn’t that intelligent. I read A Mathematician’s Apology for a while, and then I went back into the store. By that time, Daniel was done with his break, and so I talked to him a bit when he wasn’t helping customers. He didn’t have a suit either. I bought three Boccherini CDs, a Dvorak CD, and a Rachmaninoff CD (which, sadly, doesn’t seem to work). Since Daniel had three more hours left to work, I decided to walk back. It was raining lightly, but it didn’t bother me too much.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

