Cell phones and other cases of rudeness


Why do people think it’s acceptable to leave cell phones turned on during classes? I detest the evil devices, but my grandmother may eventually manage to convince me to get one despite my most adamant protests. Even if these idiots do think it’s acceptable to leave their mobile devices turned on during classes, why do they think it shouldn’t be a problem if they let them ring for two minutes before bothering to turn them off? Do they think the tunes they select are so terrific that everyone must hear them several times? At least in this respect, high school was better. I never thought I would utter those words or even type them, but at least in high school competent teachers would take away cell phones if that went off in class and (hopefully) keep them for a few months. That’s the way it should be. The things should be banned if they can’t be used correctly.

Why do people think it is appropriate to leave a class fifteen or twenty minutes before it is over? Why do people think it is appropriate for several dozen students to leave a class fifteen or twenty minutes before it is over? If a person must leave early from a college class, that person should not bother to show up at all. College classes are optional; students who do not want to attend should not attend. Why do they? A professor teaching a class of 500 students cannot possibly tell if a particular student shows up on a particular day. I would imagine that a professor does not care whether a particular shows up on a particular day. Why does the professor feel obliged to apologize for his anger when many students are alarmingly rude?

I guess that’s what I deserve for taking an introductory level lower-division class. I would hereby declare this quarter the last in which I will take lower-division classes, but I would very much like to take Greek at some time. However, if the class is going to be anything like this one, I shall reconsider. Fortunately, my schedule next quarter seems to be as full as it can be if I would like to retain any epsilon > 0 of sanity. Differential geometry and orchestration are at the same time, which is probably quite a good thing. Perhaps some time later this week or next week I will try to see if the university will allow me to enroll in orchestration given that the computer will not allow me to do so. Then again, that would make the decision even more difficult. On second thought, orchestration is 106B, and so I have probably missed a quarter. Maybe I shouldn’t take that class then. Well, we (or at least I) shall see.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cell phones and other cases of rudeness

  1. ywalme says:

    Why do people think it is appropriate to leave a class fifteen or twenty minutes before it is over? Why do people think it is appropriate for several dozen students to leave a class fifteen or twenty minutes before it is over? If a person must leave early from a college class, that person should not bother to show up at all. College classes are optional; students who do not want to attend should not attend. Why do they?
    For one thing, not all college classes are optional. For another, there are times when something can only get done at one specific time that happens to be during a class, but missing the entirety of that class would set one back by so much material that it’s incredibly difficult to catch up (my Greek class is like this – sometimes we cover an entire chapter a day).
    I’m with you on the cell phones, though. Especially during music classes. I’m not interested in hearing a tinny MIDI of a Bach Toccata while attempting to concentrate on the weird melismas in the Bach Magnificat.

  2. usmanfun says:

    Hey…
    I am one of those people who carry a cell phone to class…but I always make sure its off. I would never try to let myself be put on the spot because of my own incompetence…
    also, I think that people should boycott the use of “classical” tunes on their cell phones. Theres nothing worse than hearing MIDI bastardizations of all your favorite classical music, coming out as computer generrated bleeps. That stuff was made for chambers, pianos, orchestras, symphonies…..you know the fancy boomy stuff.

  3. aurox says:

    I think you’re taking the cell phone thing way too seriously. I don’t think people intentionally leave their cell phones on just to be rude. Maybe they meant to turn them off but forgot to. And if it does in fact ring it might take them a few minutes before they realize that its their cell phone thats going off. Although it’s stll pretty rude regardless of that fact.
    People leave their classes early because they’re too full of themselves. Chances are they probably taken the course before and are doing it for the easy grade. (I admit doing that myself.) But yeah, usually I just don’t go at all. I’d justify my ditching by saying the professors suck (lower tech profs really really do) but deep down inside I know its just because I’m lazy. Unfortunately I’ve developed a destable habit of taking my own holidays. IE. Not going to class for the whole week. ><

  4. z9r4c3 says:

    ^^ greek… cell phones used to be banned because (20 yrs ago) only drug dealers used them.

    • Simon says:

      Let’s bring back the ban.

      • goreism says:

        porky
        i’m sure that most people who have a cell phone go off during a class feel slightly embarassed about it. however, i believe there is a way to artificially increase this slight embarassment to a level which will ensure that no idiot will be that forgetful again. all it takes is your loud, booming voice and a complete lack of shame (yea, you know what’s coming.. erk). next time a cell phone goes off, just stand up and deliver your favorite string of profanities/admonishments in the direction of the offender. that person will never be that negligent again! simon 1, cell phones 0.
        in addition, the knowledge that a maniac such as yourself is in the lecture hall should teach any cell phone owners in the class a long-lasting lesson. i mean, sure, people will think you’re a jackass, but in the future your mere presence should bring cell phone owners scrabbling to turn their phones off.

Leave a Reply

