The analysis homework was really hard this week. I’m not at all confident about my solutions even though I worked on them for hours. I hope I got them all correct. It didn’t help that one of the questions was incorrect. After he told us in class that the result was false, I tried to change my solution enough to make it look reasonable and to make everything I said be correct (I think), but I only had an hour between the end of class and the time homework was due, and I still hadn’t solved one of the problems at all.

After handing in my homework, I thought it would be a good idea to work on the tough bits of Dvorak’s 8th Symphony, but it was probably a lost cause by then. I suppose they were passable, but they wouldn’t have been by ECYS standards. I need to practice more.

The concert went rather well as far as our playing went. The audience could have used some remedial etiquette lessons. For one thing, it is inappropriate for people to cheer for their friends before the concert. \begin{sarcasm} I was impressed that only two or three cell phones went off during the concert. \end{sarcasm} Also, the audience insisted on clapping after the first and second movements of the Dvorak. The conductor made a strange face and gesture after they applauded improperly the second time, but apparently they had learned their lesson, as I did not hear a single plaudit after the third movement. There really should be mandatory lessons on concert etiquette for new audiences.

Now I have a paper due at 11:15, and I have written one sentence. I should get back to work.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. z9r4c3 says:

    I feel bad… when I go to concerts, i … fall asleep…

  2. ive only actually watched one concert. and the audience (along with me) didnt do a bad job. the other concerts that ive played in lots of babies cried

Leave a Reply

