The UCSB bookstore doesn’t know what it’s doing. The textbook for differential topology costs $40 or so downstairs in the textbook section and $30 or so upstairs in the Springer math book sale section. Fortunately, I realized this and saved myself some money.

Jon, Jeff, and I did a bit of algebra today. We got through most of Tuesday’s lecture. Math is hard, but that’s a good thing.

It’s so cold here. Weatherbug tells me it’s 46 degrees Fahrenheit. Isn’t it supposed to be warm in Southern California?

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to

  1. goreism says:

    p0rky
    i thought weatherbug was bad evil spyware? >_<

  2. 46 degrees? Cry me a river.
    When I lived in Chicago I dealth with -40 wind chills.
    San Diego is a dream compared to that.

    • Simon says:

      I suppose in comparison to many other places, it’s rather warm here. However, the difference is that in Southern California, it is expected to be warm, so weather like this doesn’t seem appropriate.

  3. rippledance says:

    46 degrees…it’s 55 up here. And that bookstore is odd.

  4. mathfanatic says:

    No, no, no. You’re supposed to brag “I saved $10 at the UCSB bookstore!” Not “I almost blew $10 because they priced the books wrong downstairs…” Or at least that’s what most grocery stores want you to think…

  5. its around 20 degrees here in tulsa. i have no sympathy for you pampered californians

  6. z9r4c3 says:

    brr… it’s cold up here too… huh. Who would have thought San Diego would be freezing? Lucky. Springer books are expensive.

  7. Anonymous says:

    -10 Celcius here. Btrrtrttrrrtrttrrt. (Sweden)

  8. Anonymous says:

    Simon: weatherbug is no good. It sounds really great and i would’ve downloaded it had i not read about it at download.com (i would link the site, but when i search weatherbug it’s not there anymore). There’s a lot of spyware and such, though. I don’t know if you have ad-aware, but if you don’t, go to download.com and download it to see, and im sure something will pop up.

Leave a Reply

