Return Home


I got home yesterday. To be honest, I’m not quite sure how I made it. I found out that it’s rather difficult to get around with a suitcase, a cello, and a backpack. I left my room around 12:15 yesterday and ran into Kevin Flores at around 12:30, so we discussed the Putnam for a while. Then some math grad students joined us, and we continued talking for a while. At around 1, we all left, and I headed over to the bus stop. After taking two busses, I ended up at the Santa Barbara Amtrak station. I don’t know why, but I brought my ticket to the clerk to ask if there was anything I needed to do. I was shocked when he told me that I had missed my train. I thought I was 45 minutes early. It turns out that the moron at STA Travel had told me that the train was set to depart at 2:48 rather than 12:48. The ticket didn’t help since it was filled with random numbers, and there was no way I could tell which numbers corresponded to the departure time. The clerk then switched my ticket to a bus ticket. I had to call (uh oh) home to say that my arrival time would be 45 minutes later. The conversation with my mother was something like this: “This will probably be the last time you’ll ever get a call from me, but I will be in at 9:15 rather than 8:30.”

At 3:00, I boarded the bus to San Jose and spent the next six and a half hours or so of my life confined by my seat, the seat in front of me, the window, and my cello. It wasn’t very comfortable, but I least I ended up in San Jose only slightly later than expected. However, my grandfather panicked because I wasn’t there at 9:15 since the bus was running a bit late. After a few minutes, I managed to find him, so it all ended well.

So now I’m back at home. It feels strange being here, but not much has changed except that my room is cleaner than it ever was when I was living there. I’ll be going to West Coast Number Theory Conference 2003 next Wednesday. If you’re going to be there, please inform me.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Return Home

  1. z9r4c3 says:

    Pfft. simon is a luddite, eh

Leave a Reply

