Meshuga Nutcracker


Today my aunt Shirley who is here from England for a week accompanied me on a Beethoven sonata. My mother refused to play the second movement with me because the piano part is harder than the cello part, and she considered that unfair. But after hearing us, she said that she liked the piece and would learn the second movement. That was fun.

In the evening, we went to a play called Meshuga Nutcracker, which is a Jewish spoof on Tchaikowsky’s Nutcracker. I enjoyed it tremendously. The philosophy behind it essentially agreed with everything I had been taught at least in elementary school. Those were good times. Part of its charm was that it was designed for all the people who are fed up with and are disgusted by Christmas. I honestly abhor Christmas, and it is always comforting to know that I am not entirely alone facing a world that disagrees with me. Too many people treat me as if I’m from another planet when they talk to me. “What?! You didn’t do busywork in high school just so that you could get a high grade and not learn a thing?” “What?! You didn’t study for the SATs just so that you could get into the best colleges?” For once I was not alone in my eccentricity.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meshuga Nutcracker

  1. usmanfun says:

    thats soo cool, you play music with your mom. I wish my parents had any kind of musical talent at all, but sadly no. In fact, I’m the only person in my family who plays any kind of instrument. I wish I learned an orchestral/chamber instrument when i was younger, then I coulda played at Homestead or something. Playing with people has a different kind of special charm than playing by yourself.

  2. confuted says:

    Hmmm. I never saw the point in studying for the SATs either. They aren’t particularly hard tests; I knew I could take them, and they’re supposed to be assessing what you know, not what vocab words you can memorize the week before.
    Oh well, the kids that study for them are the same kids that get stressed over them, which is part of the reason those same kids do poorly and think they need to study.

  3. lol, you all may be interested in the movie named The Perfect Score

Leave a Reply

