Another Compulsory Update


Well, I spent another day doing nothing. Ever since I returned to Sunnyvale, I have lacked any and all motivation. Okay, I read a few pages of algebraic number theory, a few pages of music theory, and a few pages of Everything and More: A Compact History of $\infty$. Nonetheless, I feel horribly unproductive. I’m bored doing nothing, but I just don’t feel like actually doing anything. Specifically, I was supposed to go through about twenty chapters of music theory, but so far I have only gone through one. I used to think that days should be 27 hours so that 18 could be used for being awake and 9 could be used for sleeping. Now I wish they were much shorter than 24 hours so that I could get back to college and take some classes again. My life needs structure, but it’s impossible to structure anything around here since my family can’t plan more than 20 minutes ahead. Then again, the only structure I’ll create will involve something like listening to the radio at 10PM every day and maybe a few other times and eating when I get hungry or bored of playing FreeCell. I’ll get structure in my life next week when I’m taking 7 classes, only 2 of which I am actually qualified to take. That will be interesting, to say the least.

I have to go back to Santa Barbara on Saturday even though the dorms won’t be open until Sunday. I hope I can find somewhere to sleep. Well, the locks on CCS won’t have changed, so I’ll be able to spend the night in there. Remind me to bring an ample supply of blankets.

I ate too much for dinner. Now I feel sick.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Compulsory Update

  1. my condolensces.
    its contrary to me though. school only brings busy work for me, and i like my flexible structure i have over break on how i can do maths while being on the computer. the two greatest thngs in the world.

  2. confuted says:

    Switch your sleep schedule so you’re nocturnal and you’ll get more done because there won’t be distractions.

Leave a Reply

