So, as you can see from my “Current Music,” a Bach Violin Concerto is being played on the radio. I don’t believe it though. My father has practiced and performed that piece countless times on the harpsichord. Admittedly, he tells his audience in his performances that it was originally for the violin, but I have never quite been able to believe that. I guess we (or at least I) tend to rely on memory and experiences much more than words that are not supported by hard evidence.

I finally got to something nonobvious (at least to me) in my study of algebraic number theory. The Eisenstein Irreducibility Criterion is really neat.

Why does boredom cause people (or maybe just me) to be so unproductive? I would think that a bored person would try to do something so as not to be so bored.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. dangit, your talk about the violin made me realize that i havent practiced all of break, and my lesson is soon. crap crap crap.

  2. mousie1389 says:

    I heard a guitar version of a piece I thought was for piano and that was rather…disturbing? The guitar version is probably the original, though. 😀
    Apathy kills all initiative, no? (Isn’t it scary given huge expanses of free time?! Can you imagine what _retirement_ would be like? ::shudders::)

    • Simon says:

      Isn’t retirement about 45 or 50 years away? Many strange things could happen in the meantime. Actually, why must one retire? It makes more sense to work until the day I die.
      I’ll still blame Homestead rather than apathy for killing all initiative simply because I can and no one is going to stop me. (Well, it’s true also. That helps.)

Leave a Reply

