Blank Notebooks


So it is possible to purchase blank (unlined) spiral-bound notebooks. It’s just difficult to find them. I will return to Santa Barbara tomorrow armed with four storebought blank notebooks and one homemade one. Does this spell the end of losing my notes? I hope so. I still don’t understand why it’s so difficult to find them. Is the market for blank notebooks so small? It seems to me that doing math on blank paper is much more convenient than doing math on lined paper since equations tend not to fit on lines. Okay, so the number of mathematicians in the world (or, more importantly for stationery stores in Sunnyvale, the number of mathematicians in Sunnyvale) is not that large. But aren’t there other people who would buy blank notebooks?

Well, I’ll be back in Santa Barbara tomorrow. If anyone questions me or tells me I’m not supposed to be on campus, I’ll say I’m doing research. But it’s more likely that the campus will be completely desolate except for one mathematics student who simply arrived a day too early.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blank Notebooks

  1. confuted says:

    I tend to use legal pads or composition books with graph paper, and tend to basically ignore the lines on the graph paper or write the numerator on one line and denominator on another (small squares on mine). But I don’t take notes in math class, I just do math and remember. Don’t tell me that it’s bad that I don’t take notes; I haven’t encountered a math class where I need to.
    However, you like blank paper, and that’s your thing. It seems that you should be able to find truckloads of it in the art supply section, but the paper will probably be a bit higher weight than you’re accustomed to or maybe want. It might be a tad expensive too. Looks like this one might be blank: http://shop.store.yahoo.com/plusq/notarshashab1.html … j/k. But you could possibly check out diaries. Those are blank, right?

    • intrepia says:

      Yeah, I would definitely check out sketchpads if you were looking for blank notebooks. The thickness/consistency of the paper varies depending on the type of art the paper is intended for (watercolor paper is thicker, for example), but I think ordinary sketchpads are fairly close to normal paper.

  2. sketch pads aren’t a good idea because the paper is coarse and not suitable for writing. the best would be drawing pads, except most aren’t spiral bound. i think if you walk into Borders there is a section where you might get lucky.

Leave a Reply

