First Day


Well, classes have begun once again. Analysis moved to South Hall 6635, so now I’ll be in South Hall 6635 for my first class Monday-Friday. Labutin had us get another textbook. It’s a 268-page book, but it cost me over $150. Oh well. I went to the bookstore before my music class to try to get the new analysis book, but the line was too long, so I gave up and decided to get it later.

Music was good. I’ll probably be hopelessly lost in that class for a while at least, but I understood what he was doing today at least. I’ll wait a week or two before deciding whether I should actually take it. Basically he went over suspensions and talked about what makes them an integral part of music.

After that, I had to race over to differential geometry. Ryavec told me it was supposed to be easy. (In fact, he said it was like a literature class. But I imagine most literature classes would be harder for me than most math classes.) Well, it is very easy, even if the professor does claim to be the toughest math professor at UCSB. We went over parametrized curves and derivatives of vector functions. Well, it’s only the first day, so there is still potential for the class to get a bit harder.

Math Talks was interesting. Only two people volunteered to present talks, one of whom was Jeff, who wasn’t even present. Instead, David volunteered him. Jeff gets to talk about Van Der Waerden’s Theorem, and Sergey gets to talk about Ramsey Theory I think. I imagine I’m still down for a talk on the irrationality of zeta(3), but I should check that some time in the near future.

Now I should get ready for AoPS Algebra and then orchestra.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

