A Couple More Classes


My first class of the day was ring theory with Agboola again. As expected, he raced through the basic definitions and claimed that everything was obvious. I think the material we went through today was about analogous to the first two weeks of group theory. After class, Jeff and I went over the notes for a while, and then Jon joined us, and we continued on until we were finished. For once, I’m caught up in algebra I think. I wonder how long that will last.

My other class of the day was homotopy theory. Bigelow wasn’t there, so someone else was teaching. He kept changing his mind as to when Bigelow would be back. Thanks to SUMaC, I understood what was going on. We didn’t do anything especially formal and instead just talked about what it means for two things to be homotopy equivalent, and we went over the house with two rooms problem.

Now I need to start a new TeX file for the new algebra notes.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Couple More Classes

  1. confuted says:

    Hmm, is algebra just learning big words that sound scary to people that don’t know them?

    • Simon says:

      Well, that’s part of it. The other part is doing math. The latter is the hard part. The definitions are simple enough, but (for me, at least) the theorems are often nonintuitive.

  2. eternalfight says:

    TeX vs. LaTeX
    Do you do your work in pure TeX or do you use LaTeX? I never bought a book on either, most of what I know is from tutorials I’ve found on the Internet (esp. “A Not So Short Introduction to LaTeX 2e”) so I don’t know exactly what I’m doing and I can’t do anything fancy, but I can generally get by for standard things.

Leave a Reply

