Revelation


I have a newfound respect for algebra. I was reading Dummit and Foote during the break of orchestra today, and I found something really neat. One might wonder why rings are commutative under addition. So here’s the reason: Let a and b be elements of a ring with a 1. Then (1+1)(a+b)=1(a+b)+1(a+b)=a+b+a+b. But (1+1)(a+b)=(1+1)a+(1+1)b=a+a+b+b, so b+a=a+b. I wonder why Agboola didn’t mention it in class. It’s far too neat to ignore, in my opinion.

I ran my first Math Jam today. I think that it went pretty well considering that it was my first time. I was a bit stunned at the beginning when no one really said what I had expected them to say, but after I got over that initial shock, I think most of my decisions were pretty good. The first problem took a bit longer than expected, and as a result, I rushed through the second one a bit too quickly and was left was much more time than was needed for the third problem. I tried to slow the pace down a bit but was unable to do so effectively. After the Math Jam was finished, people started asking for bonus questions, and the only thing I could think of off the top of my head was the Lindelöf Hypothesis, which was slightly unfair. Fortunately, Richard had a better question which was from an IMO. Somehow that seems slightly more appropriate.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Revelation

  1. teratoma says:

    YES SIR
    Mr. Rubenstein-Salzedo, surely you have heard of this book, “A Course of Modern Analysis,”
    by E. T. Whittaker and G. N. Watson; probably you have used it. How do you feel? Are there introductory analysis texts that I should buy instead of or as well as this one?

    • Simon says:

      Re: YES SIR
      I have heard of this book but have not used it. I have Hardy’s A Course in Pure Mathematics, which is very good. Another book which I have not used but is apparently terrific is Rudin’s Principles of Mathematical Analysis.

  2. yes, that imo problem was awesome nation

Leave a Reply

