New Plan


I have decided that from now on, I will go to sleep around 9:30PM and wake up around 4:30. It will have to be a bit later than 9:30 on Mondays and Wednesdays because of orchestra rehearsals, but at least in can be close. Then I can do math between 5:30 and 7:30. If 9:30 to 4:30 isn’t enough sleep, then I can easily extent that range without running a risk of being late to class or even being rushed to get to class on time. Anyway, there’s really nothing like doing math in the cold and the dark. I get to my classes before anyone else rather frequently, and I invariably turn off the lights and close the curtains. Of course, it all goes downhill when the next person enters the room, turns on the light, and asks me what I was doing in the dark. I will test this new sleep schedule for the first time today.

Conservative services are back at UCSB Hillel. This pleases me greatly, as I did not like the orthodox services very much.

Differential geometry continues to crawl along like a snail. I don’t see how we’re going to get close to finishing the textbook within two quarters at this rate. How many times does he have to tell us what a Riemann sum is and what the Fundamental Theorem of Calculus is? This is supposed to be an upper-division class. It amazes me how much difference there is between an upper-division class and a graduate class. It should really be much harder. Ryavec told me it would be easy, but I didn’t believe him because he tells me lots of things will be easy, and I usually find them really hard.

Today, a boy in my music class and I had an interesting conversation.

He: Are you a performance major?
I: No. I’m a mathematics major.
He: Oh. So you must compose music.

I thought that was a very odd non-sequitur.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Plan

  1. confuted says:

    How, pray tell, does one do maths “in the dark”? Assuming one is using some combination of paper, problem source, books, and potentially calculator, I don’t see mathematics in the dark working. (Pun intentional)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Heh
    When did you get that idea? And, is it troublesome to fall asleep at 9:30 PM?

  3. goreism says:

    (porky)
    4:30, eh? hm, you should sleep more than that. different doctors recommend different amounts of sleep for different people but nobody your age should be sleeping 7 hours a day(!) oh well, i shouldn’t tell you how to run your life; i’m sick of my own parents telling me that sleeping 12 hours a day is too much. hrmph!

  4. csn says:

    He: Are you a performance major?
    I: No. I’m a mathematics major.
    He: Oh. So you must compose music.
    I thought that was a very odd non-sequitur

    Why? It makes perfect sense. The more cerebral aspects of of music–composing, music theory–are a very mathematical thing.

Leave a Reply

