I spent much of the weekend doing math. On Sunday, Jon, Jeff, and I worked through last Tuesday’s algebra lecture. On Monday, I did much more math than that. I met with Ryavec twice to discuss Haar measure and to get some books from the library. (We met the second time since the library wasn’t open at 7:30 AM. I can’t imagine why not.) After that, Jon, Jeff, and I again met to go through Thursday’s algebra lecture, and then we went to Annalies’s house to do some topology. Lots of math is a good thing. I should do math more often. It’s a shame that I’m just incompetent.

Yesterday I had my first reading class with Ryavec on Fourier analysis. It’s a bit awkward when he uses terms I don’t know and then defines them by using other terms I don’t know. Somehow, I managed to understand most of what he was saying despite not knowing the definitions. Several years ago, when I wanted to learn complex analysis, I got a book from the library on complex analysis, and it made frequent references to Fourier series. (I don’t know why.) So I got a book on Fourier series, and it made frequent references to complex analysis. I was very disturbed that I couldn’t understand either book without having gone through the other, and I hope that doesn’t start to happen again.

The TA for music theory is complaining about not being paid enough to grade homework, so it seems that it would be unwise for me to continue turning in assignments since I’m not actually enrolled in the class. I’ll blame Schwarzenegger for that just because I can.

Thank you , indirectly, for teaching me how to change the colors in my friends page. I had some fun playing around with it this morning, and I’ll probably continue to play with it until I am satisfied.

My life is so boring. All I do is go to classes, do homework, do math, play music, and use the computer. I don’t know what else I should be doing, and I don’t feel especially bored, but my life is boring enough to prevent me from posting more entries on my LiveJournal. It seems quantity of posts on LiveJournal is a litmus test for how boring or not boring my life is.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. sigh, don’t remind me
    why aren’t you enrolled in the music clats?

    • Simon says:

      It’s the fifth quarter of a six-quarter sequence, and I would need to take a placement test to be allowed admission. (The computer enrollment system won’t let me in since I don’t have prerequisites.) I wasn’t convinced that I would be able to pass the placement test, so I decided to audit the fifth quarter, and then at the end of the quarter or the beginning of the next quarter or whenever is convenient, I’ll take the placement test for the first five quarters and enroll in the sixth quarter.

  2. intrepia says:

    Maybe I should make my own LJ FAQs sometime… 😉

  3. aurox says:

    meet some girls and have fun =D

  4. csn says:

    Don’t forget to enjoy socialize and enjoy life..I go to a highly academic school, but by far the most I’ve learned and the richest and best experiences I’ve obtained have been a result of social interaction and development, not academic.

Leave a Reply

