No sane person would ever pick a schedule like mine


I learned the hard way that it’s rather difficult to play the cello without using the D string and trying not to use the A string. My poor cello isn’t doing well. The pegs are slipping constantly, and the bow could really use rehairing. My D string is flat by about a factor of 2^(1/24) and the A by somewhat less than that, and I’m not strong enough to fix them. Therefore, it is absolutely essential that I change my A and D strings very soon. I don’t want to go through tonight’s rehearsal trying to pretend I don’t have a D string again. At any rate, I will not use any form of instant messenger again until my A and D strings (at least) have been changed. Hopefully I will also be able to use the absence of instant messenger to my advantage to learn about the homotopy extension property and possibly some algebra in the meantime.

I find it rather cruel that orchestra rehearsals now end at 10:30, an hour after I’m supposed to be asleep. As a result, I changed my alarm clock from 4:30 to 5:20, but apparently I was sufficiently accustomed to being awake at 4:30 that I woke up on my own at around 4:45 today. How I’m going to stay awake during tonight’s rehearsal is beyond me though.

Happy Groundhog Day. May the winter stick around for a while longer.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No sane person would ever pick a schedule like mine

  1. confuted says:

    Hmm, probably just humidty changes with your cello. Do you take it outside? (don’t if you can help it) And if you aren’t strong enough to turn the pegs and get them to stick… find somebody that is, and perhaps lift a few weights.

    • Simon says:

      Well, I don’t think I had changed the strings for about 2 years, so it’s reasonable to expect them not to be at their bests. Anyway, I changed the A and D strings now, so all is (hopefully) well. I take it outside on my way to orchestra rehearsals, but that’s all.

Leave a Reply

