Well, my cello is working again. That means I can worry about other things, which is good since I have a lot to worry about at the moment, such as the homotopy extension property and telling Agboola that I’m not taking algebra even though I show up to class every day. There aren’t very many people who scare me, but he is definitely one of them. I think most of the grad students are scared of him too. One of the grad students in algebra once said he’d give me a dollar if I were to tell Agboola not to turn the light on when he came since I am rather well-known for my fondness of darkness. Of course, I didn’t even consider taking him up on his offer.

Ryavec’s class with me that used to be on Fourier analysis seems to have turned into a class on the Riemann zeta function. I have no objections except that it’s more interesting than any of the classes for which I’m supposed to be doing work. I’d like to be able to do more than just listen to him for an hour a week, but my schedule is so filled. The only time I get for pleasure reading seems to be the breaks of orchestra rehearsals. The conductor always peeks at my books during the breaks and then makes some snide comment about my reading matter.

Happy birthday Gaston Julia. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you need to visit Google more often.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. rippledance says:

    *grins* I visited Google and wondered why there was a Mandelbrot set on the ‘G’…

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    yup. pretty recurrences.

Leave a Reply

