Wow. pi_1(S^1)=Z is an amazingly deep theorem. We proved the Fundamental Theorem of Algebra, the Brouwer Fixed Point Theorem, and the Borsak-Ulam Theorem from it on Thursday. That was fun.

On Friday, we had our first performance of Gilbert and Sullivan’s Gondoliers. Right before the performance, Max dropped his bass, and at least part of the fingerboard broke off. Fortunately, it didn’t hit anyone as it fell, but apparently it was very close. He ran off to get a new one and still returned before the performance began. If I were to believe in luck, I would have considered it a bad omen, but since luck is nonexistent in such circumstances, it wasn’t a bad omen but just an isolated event. The performance went pretty well, but we were supposed to play the last few pages over at the end, and we did the wrong thing. I suppose almost everyone figured out what we had done pretty quickly, so it probably sounded reasonably convincing.

On Saturday, we had another AlgebraFest and did a bunch of stuff with rings and modules and exact sequences. I’m not too fond of exact sequences. We did have an interesting conversation about them though. Jon was unhappy with a proof of some theorem on short exact sequences.

Jon: I’m going to kill someone or something as a result of this.
I: Jeff is closer to you than I am.
Jeff: But I’m stronger than you.
I: I have an abstract algebra book to defend myself.
Jon: Simon, I challenge to you to Dummit at twenty paces.

It would be a strange site to see two people hurling abstract algebra books at each other. Of course, it didn’t happen though.

We had another performance yesterday night. No one dropped an instrument, but the performance was much worse. The actors kept saying the wrong lines and singing too slowly. I hope today’s performance will be better.

My stupid roommate left his alarm clock on, and now it’s beeping, but I don’t know how to turn it off. If I ever go home when he’s still here, I’ll hide the remote control and make it hard for him to get to my radio, and it will go off at 4:30 in the morning. Unfortunately, he might still be awake at 4:30. But I’ll probably never go home when he’s still here.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

