Flakes


I hate people who can’t honor commitments that they make. How hard is it for a person to schedule a meeting that it is possible to attend? It should be very easy. Unfortunately, it seems that some people are completely oblivious to the inconveniences that their inability to show up causes others. A certain graduate student keeps making arrangements to meet with me to try to work out the homework problems and then canceling at the last minute. He generally gives some pathetic excuse, such as “I have too much homework for this other class,” or “I think I have a mild case of the flu,” or, worst of all “I’m just too busy.” Well, if you are in a position to make an appointment with me and you attend UCSB, I am busier than you. I have over 24 hours of class time alone each week, and I never skip or arrive late to a class or any other appointment that I arrange. This aforementioned graduate student routinely misses classes or shows up twenty minutes late when he bothers to come, and then he asks me to give him my notes. And he calls me a slacker. Why do I bother? I guess I don’t like saying no to people when I don’t have a really good reason. But then I have just given a good reason. I suppose I prefer to get mad at myself for knowing such people than to get mad at them. I wonder what I have gained from knowing this fellow. He has given me a lot of advice, but I think I have chosen to ignore all of it since his view on life clearly differs from mine greatly.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in rants. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flakes

  1. goreism says:

    (porky too lazy to put up right pic)
    lol, reading that first sentence reminded me that i have a peer advising meeting tonight.

  2. you could schedule for doing your homework with another person?

  3. rippledance says:

    I almost never say no – I simply don’t know how to do so without seeming rude. And in the end, it’s the other person who suffers as a result.

Leave a Reply

