I turned in my Haar measure paper on Wednesday. I think it’s a pretty good paper.

We had an orchestra concert on Wednesday. Except for a few interesting moments, it went rather well. The most interesting moment was right before the Schumann Piano Concerto. As usual, the concermaster took an A, but then the conductor and soloist didn’t come on stage. I’m not sure where the soloist was, but I didn’t see him backstage. So we waited for a few minutes, and nothing happened. The audience started laughing. Then, since we didn’t have anything to do, the conductor told the concertmaster to take another A, which he did. Finally the soloist showed up, and we were able to begin playing.

On Thursday, we must have had the shortest algebra class ever. He came in, handed out the finals, and then left. I heard lots of people said they understood about as much from that lecture as most of the others. Bigelow gave the same proof that the fundamental group of something (perhaps it was the PoincarĂ© homology 3-sphere) is Z/2Z as Clark Bray did at SUMaC 2001. (I think I’m talking to an audience of one, so if you aren’t that one, please forgive me for this.)

I talked to Labutin about my project yesterday. I don’t think he had read my paper before then, even though he said that he would since he asked me some simple definition questions and also some slightly more interesting questions that I didn’t have much trouble answering.

We had math club as usual yesterday afternoon, and I stayed for almost two hours talking to graduate students. These math department teas are quite a lot of fun. I think I’ll go more often given that I’ll have class in South Hall 6635 from 1-3 on Tuesday and Thursday next quarter.

And now the quarter is over except for finals. It seems very strange and silly that I have to stick around here until Wednesday so that I can take exactly one final (differential geometry). I guess that’s just life though. Alas, my roommate is staying for the weekend, so I won’t have this place to myself the way I usually do on weekends. But 8:00 has come and gone, and his alarm clock hasn’t gone off as it usually does on Saturdays.

Happy early pi day to everyone.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Linking.
    You can use the <a> tag to insert a link, e.g., <a href=”http://www.albanyconsort.com/algebra/220Anotes.pdf”>Algebra notes</a> will give you the link Algebra notes.

Leave a Reply

