Pi Day and Putnam Scores


Pi day was fun. A bunch of people went over to Annalies’s house to celebrate by eating pie and watching the movie Pi. Only four of us (Jon, Owen, Annalies, and I) stayed for the whole thing.

Putnam results came back today. I got 26 points, which was 264th nationally. That’s roughly the college equivalent of squeaking into USAMO maybe, although a 9th grader who gets 264th in the nation on AMC and AIME will definitely make USAMO. How shameful. I can be somewhat consoled by the fact that my score was the highest at UCSB, but 264th is still terrible. Our team was 31st, which seems rather high given our low individual rankings. I suppose there are so many people at Harvard and MIT and various other places who finish ahead of all of us that our team rank can still be decent even though we did poorly as individuals. Ryavec seemed pretty disappointed by our lousy scores and said that we should each get six problems, and we should be in the top five schools. I’m sick of not doing well on things. I shall solve no fewer than nine questions on the Putnam next year.

I have a differential geometry final on Wednesday. I suppose I know the material pretty well, but I’m not really convinced.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pi Day and Putnam Scores

  1. Just keep in mind that most people got 2 or so points and 264th is rather goodly. You have 3 more years.

  2. wondergecko says:

    …Oh my gosh. 😀 Hey Simon! It’s Kim–do you remember me?
    –Murky

Leave a Reply

