I’m back at UCSB, and classes start today. I don’t know if I’m excited or if I slept too much while I was at home, but I woke up with no help from an alarm clock at around 4:15 today. It was too dark for me to be able to read my watch, so I got up without realizing it was so early. At some point last quarter, I decided that 4:30 was too early to get up, so I changed it to 5:30 and stuck to that. I will be very busy today since I plan to go to no fewer than six classes plus the AoPS geometry class.

My mother gave me a copy of Joel Ben Izzy’s book before I left, and I was shocked to find out that I read fifty pages of it on the plane. For some people, that might not be anything special, but I read very slowly, and it usually takes me at least two hours to read fifty pages. Then I read thirty more in a half hour last night. I guess it’s a quick read. Since I will be done with it too soon, I got a copy of Count Down, which I thought wasn’t supposed to be released until April 2nd. But since it was on the bookshelf at UCSB, I just decided to buy it.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. I also got a copy of Count Down — I think sometimes bookstores get books before Amazon does. I’m in the middle of writing a review for LJ. It’s pretty good, and a quick read.

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    Count Down? is that what i think it is?

Leave a Reply

