Passover


It’s Passover again. I went to two seders at Hillel. Both were wonderful, but I definitely preferred the second. The first was enormous, and second was much smaller and much more like a family seder, especially since we did all the same readings, the same songs, had more or less the same conversations, and used the same Haggadot. Since the dining hall doesn’t have a terrific selection of Passover food, I have been going to Hillel twice a day for lunch and dinner. Food at Hillel is far better than the food they serve at the dining hall, and it isn’t even the same every single day. Quite a few of my friends have been showing up to Hillel for meals lately, and the company is welcomed since I generally eat my meals alone. I also do most things alone though, so meals aren’t particularly unusual in that respect. But I feel as if I am being quite social this week, even though I have been to exactly zero math teas. They seem less appealing when I can’t eat the cookies. In contrast, I went to tea three times last week. I did manage to “intrude” on an interesting conversation with a graduate student who said he has some PG Tips tea in his room. I was quite surprised, so I asked him where one could get PG Tips in this country. I think he was quite surprised that I had even heard of it.

I’m still in a good mood, but I don’t know why. I can’t remember the last time I have been in such a good mood for such an extended period of time, but it can’t have been recently.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

