Recent News


Crandall informed us on Thursday that he wouldn’t be in class Friday, but he wanted us to come anyway and work through two sections in the book. Only five people (out of nine) showed up, although that was not too bad given that the usual turnout is seven. People didn’t seem especially interested in doing problems from the book, so Sergey wrote a problem on the board, which we didn’t especially want to do. So I wrote up problem #14 from the 2004 alternate AIME, and they solved it by the end of the class. It was a bit like the way Putnam practices were in the fall before we got back the results and Ryavec decided that we shouldn’t work together on Putnam problems from then on.

I stayed at Hillel for dinner on Friday, which is a rare thing for me. But now I think I will stay more often since being around so often during Passover forced me to meet lots of other people, so now I have significantly more friends than I did before. I had always considered dinner too social an event for me since I am extremely shy, but I think I might be able to change that now.

I tried to act like a little kid last night, reading Count Down and listening to the Ries cello sonatas and the Boccherini cello sonatas and fugues before going to sleep. There were a few problems though. For one thing, the speakers are far away from my bed and are also at a significantly higher altitude, and so I have to turn the music on quite loudly in order to hear it properly. The other problem was that I don’t have a timer on my light here as I do at home, so the light was on all night. Therefore, I kept waking up at funny hours. It’s funny that I always manage to wake up at about 5:24 whenever I don’t set my alarm clock. Perhaps I’ll just stop setting it to go off in the morning when I become sufficiently confident in my ability to wake up in time. How many college students could possibly make it on time to class without an alarm clock? That would be quite an achievement!

Somehow my homework load seems significantly smaller than it did last quarter even though I’ll have three or four assignments a week rather than two. I did figure out that I know nothing about exterior derivatives though, and that is quite a shame. But I guess I have come to terms with the fact that my assignments will always get done without my having to pull an all-nighter. I guess pulling all-nighters is something that most college students will do at some time or another in order to get work done, but only twice have I considered pulling all-nighters, and neither one had anything to do with getting all my work done. One was two days before the start of Winter quarter, when I could have stayed up reading the math books in 494 148, and I probably would have done that had it not been so cold. The other was the day my flight home was canceled, when I considered staying at the airport reading analytic number theory. Fortunately, some sense quickly ran through me, and I took a taxi back to the dorm.

I should see if I can get my independent study class changed to Thursday this week so that I can eat a decent lunch on Tuesday. I’ll probably also come in on Wednesday rather than on Monday for Putnam seminar for the same reason.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recent News

  1. tgvlives says:

    Sleep
    You NEVER pulled an all-nighter before?!!?!
    GAH! *shoots self in head*

Leave a Reply

