Computer Bug


For some reason, I can’t acccess http://www.livejournal.com from my computer, but I can access 66.150.15.150, which is its IP address. Therefore, I can still use LiveJournal, but it’s a pain to do so since I have to type in links manually most of the time. The error message I get reads “The connection was refused when attempting to contact http://www.livejournal.com.” I would greatly appreciate it if someone were to explain to me how to fix this error. Thanks.

Incidentally, I have the same problem with http://www.artofproblemsolving.com, but all the links still start with the IP address in that case, so it isn’t a problem. All other websites I have tried are working fine.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Computer Bug

  1. intrepia says:

    You might have a Trojan Qhosts virus. Do a virus scan and delete it if you find one. After that, try going to your Windows/Help folder and opening the host file in notepad. If it lists some web addresses, delete them, and things should work again.

    • Simon says:

      Some variant on what you told me to do worked. Thanks!

    • confuted says:

      The HOSTS file is in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc, not c:\windows\help
      Anyway, a bit of theory first: the HOSTS file is designed to be a “fast lookup” type thing for IPs for various websites. This avoids your computer having to ask the DNS servers that run the internet for the IP, speeding things up… perhaps not noticably. But there is another use that is far more clever. 127.0.0.1 is an IP address of each and every computer; if you type that into your browser, it will try to access your computer. It’s called localhost. So, if there are some websites whose content you never want to see, it’s a relatively simple matter to make your computer look for the content… on your computer. It won’t find it of course, and the pages will load faster – and without the ads, if that’s what you choose to block. I’d recommend a (free) program called edexter which will run in the background and replace the red x with a blank pixel, in conjunction with replacing your HOSTS file with the following (just copy and paste the rest of this comment into your HOSTS file and save to block most banner ads/popups from being served to your computer)
      Err, it won’t let me paste it all in here, so here’s a link and more information. http://accs-net.com/hosts/

  2. hey simon!
    i noticed you added me as a friend, so i added you back. i’m glad to see you have a live journal, hope your doing well. best, maggie

Leave a Reply

