I Am Infinitely Clever


But people keep telling me that I am not creative, which must mean that I know everything since creativity is simply a substitute for knowledge. How can one be creative at all if one knows everything? Then there’s nothing left to create. So I have determined that there exist positive constants a, b, and c so that, assuming creativity and knowledge can be quantified, (creativity^a)(knowledge^b)<=c.

But now I should discuss why am I infinitely clever. On Thursday, I saw a chess problem on Ryavec's bulletin board right next to the door to his office. For a while, I was convinced it was unsolvable, but he said it was solvable but required an infinite amount of cleverness to solve it and that a finite amount wouldn't do. Well, I solved it yesterday. Thus I must be infinitely clever. For those interested, here is the puzzle:

There is something on h4. Figure out what it is. Thinking can be so much fun.

A conference in celebration of Morris Newman’s 80th birthday is going on this weekend. I didn’t know about it until about 1PM yesterday, so I missed the morning session, but I went to the afternoon session and, characteristically for me, didn’t understand anything. But I’ll be back for the section this morning to see if I can figure anything out. I think as a result of this conference, I met Timothy Redmond, who is one of the CCS math people from the 1970s who Ryavec keeps talking about, yesterday.

Ah yes. Does anyone know of a place to purchase pseudospheres. (A wooden pseudosphere would be preferable.) I could make one out of paper, but then it wouldn’t be very stable. okb and I will be giving a lecture on surfaces of constant negative gaussian curvature some time this quarter, and I think it would be fun to have a pseudosphere. It sounds like something that someone might sell at MIT.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Am Infinitely Clever

  1. z9r4c3 says:

    eep…
    that chess thing looks hard… and arml practice is today!! pseudosphere? what’s that?

  2. gompers says:

    how could black have moved his pawn last when he is under check?

    • Simon says:

      The red square is meaningless. Anyway, how could a black pawn move to g7? It’s clearly black’s turn to move, although that doesn’t matter.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Chess Problem
    So will you post a solution or leave us all hanging? How about a hint?

    • Simon says:

      Re: Chess Problem
      Hm. Well, I don’t want to tell everyone what the answer is, so why don’t you ask me in some way so that when I respond, not everyone can see the answer?

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hmm.
    Well, the last move must have been cxd8=R+.
    The pawn formerly on c7 must have been the f or g pawn.
    Moves before this take more then the minute of leisure I have now.
    Any ideas?
    – Erik Friedlander

Leave a Reply

