Almost done


I should probably stop using the word “almost” unless I’m talking about “almost all” or “almost everywhere” in a technical sense since I get annoyed with myself when I use words incorrectly, but I’ll keep it this time.

On Thursday I debated whether or not to go to hear the Wind Ensemble play. I wanted to hear the Strauss Horn Concerto #1, but I didn’t especially want to hear the other pieces. In the end, I decided to go. I figured I would need three hours to complete the script for AoPS, so I decided that those three hours would be 5-8 AM. But after several hours of insomnia, I got up at around 1AM and worked on it for half an hour. When my roommate decided that he was going to stop making repetitive noises that were keeping me awake, I went to sleep finally. I guess my estimation skills are fairly good given that I sent the script off at 7:59AM.

Somehow, despite a tremendous lack of sleep, I felt comparatively awake on Friday. I think the main reason that I was awake on Friday was that I didn’t take notes in analysis. It seems that taking notes in classes is the most sleep-inducing activity I perform other than actually sleeping, especially when I try to write legibly.

On Friday night, I went to see The Importance of Being E(a)rnest in CCS, and that was a lot of fun and very good.

At some point, I also put nearly all of my books in a suitcase. They fit so perfectly. The only problem is that the airport surely won’t accept a suitcase that heavy. I’m not sure if I could even pick it up for more than a few seconds. So I guess I’ll have to give FedEx a lot of money to send them home instead.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Almost done

  1. z9r4c3 says:

    Oh! I loved that movie! it was sooooo cute, and apparently all the old people who were also watching the movie thought so too!

  2. confuted says:

    Could you perhaps drive/be driven home rather than flying? It would likely be a cheaper way to transport yourself and all your stuff.

    • Simon says:

      That would be preferable, but no one will drive me, and I don’t know how to drive. I’ll take the train home the second time I return since I need to get my cello back and I don’t want to buy it a plane ticket.

      • mathfanatic says:

        You would only need to buy your cello a plane ticket if you wanted to keep an extremely close eye on it. Otherwise, you can give the airline a considerable amount of money (but nothing near a plane ticket; perhaps $50) to let you put the cello on as oversize baggage.

  3. goreism says:

    porky
    well, if you won’t use the books over summer, you could always just store it. maybe you could beg your reshall directors to store them somewhre on campus, but if not i guess thres always pay2store.
    also, shipping isn’t so bad. i sent home (from st. louis) a big box of books (definitely >50 lbs, cant really remember) via usps and it cost me 15 bucks, which i found quite reasonable ^^

    • Simon says:

      Re: porky
      For one thing, the cost of storage is far higher than the cost of shipping. I was considering storing my stuff for a while, but then I realized that shipping is cheaper. Also, I need those books. I need to (re)learn everything I was supposed to have learned this year.

Leave a Reply

