This post is long overdue, so I wouldn’t be surprised if this entry turns out to be rather lengthy.

First, last weekend I went to ARML. That was a wonderful way to take the weekend off and get out of Santa Barbara, a place I’m sick of for the time being. (That’s the whole point of summer, isn’t it?) Lots of people reading my journal already know the results of the contest, but I’ll post them too: TJ won overall (again; someone needs to do something about this), SFBA was second (again; ditto), NYC was third, Georgia was fourth (I hadn’t anticipated such a strong finish from them), Chicago was fifth (I had expected them to do much better), and Montgomery was sixth. won individual, Jongmin Baek was second, upholding the honor of the SFBA team, and Anders Kaseorg was third. Congratulations to all of them!

It was nice to see all my SFBA friends and meet the new crop of math talents in the Bay Area. I also got to meet Richard Rusczyk (finally!) and some celebrities from the north, specifically and Adam Hesterberg.

On Tuesday, I went back to UCSB to take my finals. My differential geometry presentation could have been better and could have been worse, but in general, it went better than I had expected, so I was happy about that. Crandall told me that my intuition is outstanding, but I have to work on proving the results that are “obvious” to me. That wasn’t a surprise to me at all; I have known that for several years, but I haven’t really known what to do about it.

Thursday morning I took my analysis final. It was very easy, but I managed to be very stupid and write pi^3/32=1-1/8+1/27-1/64+…, which is false, rather than pi^3/32=1-1/27+1/125-1/343+…, which I knew before, despite doing the derivation of the latter formula correctly. When I was walking back to my room nearly two hours before the final was scheduled to end, I realized what I had done and was typically unkind to myself for my idiocy.

I spend the early part of Thursday afternoon packing my stuff and taking boxes over to the UCen post office to be shipped home. That was a miserable process to which I shall never subject myself again. Dragging a cart with three boxes from Manzanita to the UCen once is no fun. Having to do that twice is torture. To make matters worse, at the end of that I had sunburns on both of my arms and no blankets (since I had used them as padding in the boxes).

Later on Thursday, there was an AoPS class for which I was assisting, but my computers (or something) didn’t work, and I couldn’t access the classroom properly. In short, Thursday was a day I’d like to forget by probably won’t.

I had to check out of my room yesterday at 10AM. I think that was the third thing all year for which I was late. (The other two were the Rosh haShanah evening service since I couldn’t remember where the building was and one class of graduate analysis when I awakened five minutes before it started.) I was still nearly four hours early to the Amtrak station. That was no fun. Due to Amtrak’s incompetence, I have decided that I will really never take Amtrak again. At this point, I would much rather buy a plane ticket for myself and one for my cello than one Amtrak ticket, even though it will be much more expensive.

But at last I’m home. Year one is over. It wasn’t a bad year for the most part. Now I really need a break. In two weeks I will be sick of breaks and will be ready to leave for Alpine, I imagine.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. pflueger says:

    Woohoo, I’m a celebrity!
    Hey you forgot to mention that Washington state got first, haha. Yay for the B division. Of course, we’re with the big dogs next year…

  2. intrepia says:

    Happy Birthday, Simon!

Leave a Reply

