I haven’t been doing too much since I got home last week. I managed to get a used copy of Glazman and Ljubic’s Finite-Dimensional Linear Analysis from an online bookstore. This book is unusual in that it has no proofs but over 2000 problems, and so the theory is developed by the reader. I haven’t done too much work on it yet.

I have been reading Hatcher’s Algebraic Topology lately to try to catch up on some of the algebraic topology I didn’t learn when I wasn’t taking a homotopy theory class in the winter. It’s a much better book than I thought it was in the winter.

On second thought, I haven’t bee too idle. On Tuesday, I had my passport renewed and had an eye checkup and a dental appointment. On Wednesday, I studied and played chess with Bernard and Erik for a while and hopefully learned a bit. I still haven’t bothered to unpack the boxes that arrived last weekend, so my room is a mess. It’s very hard to get through it.

The US Puzzle Championship is tomorrow. I decided that it would be interesting to participate in it, although I’m sure I won’t do very well.

I found out yesterday that my grandfather had a minor stroke while on vacation in England. He seems to be doing well, but we have to hope for the best. I wish him a speedy recovery.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

