I haven’t posted for a while. But fear not. I am still alive and well. I got to Alpine 9 days ago, and I am now in the AoPS office. My apartment doesn’t have internet access, and I failed to hack into wireless connections of neighbors. Therefore I spend the vast majority of my waking hours at the office. I have really become far too dependent on the internet. I remember not being impressed by the internet when I was in fifth grade. How times have changed!

 

I went over to Richard and Vanessa’s place yesterday for the 4th of July. They have an enormous lot about 10 miles away from the office. I don’t understand what anyone could do with that much space, but then again I find myself wondering what anyone could do with a lot of things (most often money). First we ate and talked for a while, and then we played a card game that Val taught us. He was my teammate, and he generally got mildly annoyed when I messed up. Then we played Seafarers of Catan, which is a terrible game, but I didn’t have much choice but to play. At about 11:45 (way past my bedtime, but since I don’t have internet access, all the hours are basically the same), Richard decided that he had had enough and gave all his cards to Val so that he could win instantly and we could get some sleep.

 

I brought lots of books with me, but I have found that I am in the apartment and awake for such a tiny amount of time that I don’t get much reading done. At the very least, I’d like to learn a bunch of algebraic topology while I’m here. But the only books I have read at all are Proofs and Refutations by Imre Lakatos, Measure and Integral by Wheeden and Zygmund, and Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. (I’m assuming that you’re having fun.)
    Glad to see you’re having fun!

  2. teratoma says:

    Can’t think of much myself
    You’re right about money there, I can really only think of one use for it myself, you know, unless you’re a crackhead or something, then there are two.

Leave a Reply

