Yesterday I went over to Tim’s place to play Diplomacy. Jon made it seem as if it were the worst game ever invented, but I think it’s quite an interesting game. I had a discussion over dinner about the existence of a winning strategy in Go. I argued that there must exist a winning strategy for either the first or second player (but I don’t know which) if the second player gets a half-point advantage, but he didn’t believe me. Before we got to Tim’s house, we stopped by Fry’s so that Jon could get his monitor replaced. This was convenient for me since my mouse had decided that it would be fun to stop working, so I got a new one.

 

My chair and my ink arrived, and so I was finally able to start using my second fountain pen (which uses blue ink at the moment). I was a bit nervous about putting fountain pen ink in a calligraphy pen, but I tried it, and it seemed to work fine. Unfortunately, when I first tried to fill it up, I forgot how the converter worked, so I got ink all over the place. I still have a bit of ink on hands from that.

 

I somehow managed to get internet access in my apartment for something like 48 hours from Wednesday to Friday, but it seems that it is gone now.  I will try to find some way to get more internet access, but I am not holding out high hopes for the time being.

 

I seem to have been assigned the task of proving that e^(i*theta)=cos(theta)+i*sin(theta) without using calculus. I don’t believe that this can be done. I can almost prove that something^theta=cos(theta)+i*sin(theta) with only a little bit of hand-waving, which is probably sufficient for the task at hand, but I am not satisfied.

 

I would have left the office half an hour ago, but there is a program about Emanuel Feuermann on the radio, and so I’ll wait until it finishes. On that note, this book looks interesting. Perhaps I should get it.

 

Functions of bounded variation are fun. In general, analysis is fun. Unfortunately, analysis wasn’t one of the things I had planned on learning over the summer. Well, I am supposed to learn functional analysis, but that isn’t happening. It’s strange that I’m being rebellious without trying. I just always seem interested in the wrong topics at the wrong times though. I haven’t been doing much topology.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. my ink somewhat exploded all over the second floor balcony of pendola last year.
    but that kind of thing is worth it to be able to write with a really nice pen

  2. z9r4c3 says:

    ooh, what a cool book!

  3. eigenvalue says:

    How could you define e^x without any analysis/calculus?

    • Simon says:

      You can’t REALLY go without calculus completely, but at least you can pick your favorite definition of e and then show that that value of e satisfies e^(i*theta)=cos(theta)+i*sin(theta).

Leave a Reply

