I’m still in Alpine. I’ll be returning to Sunnyvale on Thursday. The reason I haven’t been posting lately is because, well, nothing ever happens in Alpine. I rarely break the daily routine of waking up at around 5, getting ready to leave, leaving at around 6, and returning at 7 or so at night.

Since I hadn’t played in a chess tournament for a year, I decided that I’d go down to San Diego to play in a tournament on Saturday. It was a G/45, so I was uncertain about whether I would be able to handle it. Apparently I was since I won my first three games (against a 1366, a 1792, and a 1620, respectively) before losing the last round (to a 1683). +22 rating points for me according to the USCF rating calculator. The San Diego Chess Club is a nice place. I should go back if I’m in the area again.

I feel as though I have done no math this summer. While of course this is not actually the case, I have done far less than I had planned on doing. Part of that is because I spend such a small amount of time in the apartment. The other part is that I’m lazy. I have to do something about that. I also don’t have access to Wikipedia whenever I want, so that also really hinders my motivation. Browsing through Wikipedia is such a great motivator, at least for me. But truthfully I spend more time (re-)learning the capitals of exotic countries than doing math on Wikipedia. (Yes, re-learning. I knew them all when I was in elementary school. Now I have forgotten a few, and I am ashamed of that.)

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Congratulations. Beating those three is great and your rating going up is great.

  2. grumf says:

    you ought to update more often.

Leave a Reply

