Classes are going well so far. We lost one student in counterpoint, so we’re down to two now, one of whom is actually enrolled. (I’m still trying to get in.) It is rather strange to be expected to do lots of work for a class I’m not taking, but I am interested in the material and thus willing to do the work. Last year, a professor told me I could audit his class iff his grader didn’t have to grade my homework. But there were more students in that class. I achieved something of a moral victory yesterday in class when he said that a cantus firmus I wrote sounded better than a slight modification that would make it “theoretically correct.” I joked that that was because I hadn’t taken any of the prerequisites. Anyway, the time for that class is now settled: 1-3 on Tuesday and 4-5:30 on Thursday.

It seems that Yiddish might actually happen. Of course now the professor wants me to stop by his office on Thursday at 4, so I’ll probably get there at 3 and see what happens.

On Monday in complex analysis, we had an interesting discussion about when the section should be. The professor was completely shocked that we voted on Wednesday at 8PM.

Despite all the confusion, I’m reasonably happy with the current state of affairs.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

