Research opportunity?


Classes are going well, but they seem strangely easy. I guess having prerequisites for (most of) the classes I’m taking is an unfair advantage. So I should try to take more classes for which I am lacking prerequisites next quarter.

On Wednesday, Putinar told us (those of us taking functional analysis) to come to the functional analysis seminar at 2:00 if we are serious about the subject. Three of us came, and I think we were all expecting not to understand a thing Dr. Garcia was talking about, not least because we didn’t know what a complex symmetric matrix was (or at least I didn’t), at least in the context of functional analysis. To my astonishment, I understood a lot of what he was saying. Maybe I got more out of 201 than I had previously thought. I think the other two understood a lot as well. As a result of our attendance, we may get an opportunity to do some research in functional analysis. I’m very excited about this new prospect. I just hope that these guys don’t think I’m smarter than I am.

Sadly, I won’t be able to take Yiddish this quarter, but I talked to professor, and he said he’ll assign me work, and then I can submit it to him. That way I’ll be in a position to take Yiddish 2 next quarter. I think that will work out.

I wonder if my books have arrived. I’ll check after this concerto ends.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Research opportunity?

  1. rippledance says:

    Research opportunity? Nice! Have fun. =)

Leave a Reply

