Music in TeX?


Well, I think we proved the min-max theorem for complex symmetric operators yesterday. Tomorrow we’ll bring it to Putinar and see what he thinks of it. Perhaps we can do math after all.

Yesterday was the beginning of my pass time for signing up for classes for next quarter, so I decided to look through the CCS classes for next quarter. Amusingly, Ryavec is teaching a class on F. Scott Fitzgerald, so I think I’ll take that. There is also a class on Hungarian literature, and, since I would like to go to Hungary next year, I think it would be a good idea to know a thing or two about its literature. Therefore I’ll take that as well. One nice thing about being in CCS is that I can take these sorts of literature classes rather than English 1 or whatever people normally have to take.

I seem to have encountered one of the limitations of Finale. Therefore I need to start writing music in a different program.When  I woke up this morning, I clicked on a random link in my bookmarks on my computer. It was a page about MusixTeX, so I investigated a little and installed it. I managed to write nearly four bars of my dance movement in MusixTeX this morning after doing that. Unfortunately, I don’t have a good book on it. I only have a pdf file with not very many examples, most of which are extremely complicated. But at least I know that I can do anything in MusixTeX, whereas that’s definitely not clear with Finale.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Music in TeX?

  1. falkor27 says:

    I’ve heard Ryavec’s F. Scott Fitzgerald class is really good.
    On a side note, can you recommend a text on differential geometry? I’d be teaching myself.

    • Simon says:

      We used Pressley for 147AB last year, but I wasn’t too fond of it, but that was mainly because I didn’t like the formatting. (As a TeX user, I’m rather picky about such things.) The classic text on differential geometry is the five-volume mammoth by Michael Spivak. I haven’t read it though.

  2. usmanfun says:

    Do you have the full version of Finale? Isnt that worth like 500 bucks. I’m even cheaper and use Finale Notepad.

    • Simon says:

      Yeah, I have the full version, but it seems not so good to me.

      • teratoma says:

        probably you have already heard of it but there is a program called ‘sibelius’ (after jean sibelius lolz) which people claim is better than finale
        wrt finale costing $500, im absolutely certain you can find it on the web for free, but i dont endorse that because that is against the law

  3. eternalfight says:

    Simon, what do you think you’d like to do after you graduate from UCSB?
    Graduate school in mathematics?
    (Do graduate schools care if applicants pursue a ‘non-traditional’ undergraduate education as you are?)

    • Simon says:

      I definitely plan to go to graduate school in mathematics after I graduate from UCSB. I’m not sure if graduate schools mind. I doubt they do since CCS wants/expects many students to go to graduate school, so they probably wouldn’t make it hard for us to get in.

Leave a Reply

