The Week in Review


Things are shaping up for me, although I got a bit panicked yesterday when I wrote out a list of things I desperately need to do this weekend and estimated a total of 16 hours of work time for those things alone (and there are others I certainly should do). However, the time I expect something to take and the time it actually takes often have little to do with each other.

I hadn’t seen a harpsichord at UCSB until Wednesday night at the orchestra concert. Among other things, they played the sixth Brandenburg Concerto.

Two of the chalkboards in 6635 have been torn down and replaced by two new ones. However, the new ones have yet to be mounted, so they were just propped up against the wall and thus very low. It was amusing to see the surprised expressions when people arrived.

We had a guest speaker in tuning and temperament yesterday, a guitarist named John Schneider. He brought in a bunch of modified guitars and a modified viola which could use various different tuning systems. The most intriguing was a guitar with magnetic fretboards. He had a stack of fretboards that he could just take off and replace.

I started writing a fugue this morning. It’s a lot of fun! It’s amazing that, provided I follow some basic rules, it actually sounds good. I’m sure it will be torn apart on Monday, but until then, I can pretend that I’m doing it correctly.

A graduate set theory course was just added for next quarter, but it conflicts with the fugue class. I really wanted to take set theory too. Perhaps I can convince them to teach it again before I graduate.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Week in Review

  1. okb says:

    Dang, I’d like to take set theory too.

Leave a Reply

